Hero image

The 15th AOGEO Symposium

The 15th Asia-Oceania Group on Earth Observations Symposium

Hybrid Event, 28 - 30 September 2022

“New horizons for Earth observation in Asia Oceania Region: Seeking engagement”

The theme of this year’s AOGEO Symposium is “New horizons for Earth observation in Asia Oceania Region: Searching for engagements”. Each thematic Task Group will share the achievements and present next implementation plans for 2023-2025, in addition to following special sessions which highlight essential challenges and opportunities to seek further stakeholder engagement at regional and global scale:

  • Biodiversity and Sustainable Society:How EO contributes to integrating nature into economic activities
  • Youth Engagement: Designing an inclusive future for youth in earth observations
  • Post-2025 strategic mission development: Inputs from AOGEO
  • Importance of local and subregional geospatial networks in the PICTs
  • Enhancing Resilience for Water Risks: Seeking opportunities for further collaboration

Week at a glance

Time zones reference:

Geneva 04:00 (UTC+1:00); Nepal 08:45 (UTC+5:45); Beijing 11:00 (UTC+8:00); Seoul & Tokyo 12:00 (UTC+9:00); Canberra 14:00 (UTC+11:00); Aukland 16:00 (UTC+13:00)

(Tokyo time)

Sep 28 (Wed) Sep 29 (Thu) Sep 30 (Fri)
12:00 Opening session TG activity reports (TG1-5)
*Including 15min break
Special session4
Importance of local and subregional geospatial networks in the Pacific Island Countries and Territories
12:30 Country report
13:00
13:30 Special session 1
Biodiversity and Sustainable Society:How EO contributes to integrating nature into economic activities
TG activity reports (TG6-11)
*Including 15min break
Latest update of AOGEO and related activities
14:00
14:30 Special session5
Enhancing resilience for water-related disaster risks: Seeking opportunities for further collaboration
15:00 Special session 2
Youth Engagement: Designing an inclusive future for youth in earth observations
Special session 3
Road to GEO post-2025: Inputs from AOGEO
15:30
16:00 Closing session
16:30 Statement development
*Closed session

Venue

Address : TOKYU REIT Toranomon Bldg.2F 3-17-1 Toranomon, Minato-ku, Tokyo 105-0001, Japan
Phone : +81-3-6435-6700

Only a limited number of seats are available at the physical venue. Priorities are given to AOGEO TGs members ; those who wish to participate on site, please contact the 15th AOGEO symposium Secretariat.

The seats are full. We are looking forward to your participation ONLINE.

About AOGEO

AOGEO is a Regional Group on Earth Observations (Regional GEO) which envisions a future where decisions and actions for the benefit of humankind are informed by coordinated, comprehensive and sustained Earth observations.

The AOGEO symposium is the annual regional forum to initiate the directions of the activities on Earth observations (EO) and their applications based on exchanging broad perspectives as well as identifying regional emerging topics to coordinate further collaboration amongst various stakeholders.

Associated Event

Asian Conference on Remote Sensing (ACRS) 2022
October 3 - 5, 2022 in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Asian Conference on Remote Sensing is an annual conference hosted by the host countries of the Asian Association on Remote Sensing (AARS).

Registration
https://www.acrs2022.mn/home